Skip to content


ECM Hi-Res Reissues

ECM Records Continues its Series of Hi-Res Reissues From its Early Analog Era

This Summer’s Batch of Digitalized Hi-Res Releases Includes Seminal Albums by Jan Garbarek, Chick Corea, Thomasz Stanko, Jack DeJohnette, Eberhard Weber,

Paul Motian, Ralph Towner, Egberto Gismonti

and Many More

Available Today

ECM Records continues its series of Hi-Res reissues from its early analog era. This summer’s batch of digitalized Hi-Res releases includes seminal albums by Jan Garbarek, Chick Corea, Dave Holland, Thomasz Stanko, Jack DeJohnette, Eberhard Weber, Paul Motian, Ralph Towner, Egberto Gismonti and many more. As with all Hi-Res releases from ECM’s vast catalogue to date, the underlying premise in digitizing the analogue tapes is not to change the sound of the recordings, but to realize them in their original form, in the most detailed and best possible quality.

Technical Specs:

In the capable hands of mastering engineer Christoph Stickel, the process begins with the original, analogue stereo master tapes. The masters are in excellent condition and can be played without problems. All tapes are played by a Studer A820, which is meticulously calibrated to the respective tape. The analog signal is then digitized in 96kHz/24-bit, which covers the complete spectrum of the original tapes. In each case, a decision is made between a PrismSound ADA-8XR, an Antelope Eclipse Mastering AD, and a Mytek Brooklyn ADC, depending on which one is suited best for the respective recording. No de-noising and no other restoration affecting the sound is applied.”

Jan Garbarek, Edward Vesala, Arild Andersen – Triptykon

Chick Corea, Dave Holland, Barry Altschul – A.R.C.

Tomasz Stanko, Tomasz Szukalski, Dave Holland, Edward Vesala – Balladyna

Jack DeJohnette’s Special Edition – Inflation Blues

Eberhard Weber – The Colours of Chloe

David Darling – Journal October – Solo Cello

Paul Motian – Conception Vessel

Ralph Towner with Glen Moore – Trios / Solos

Egberto Gismonti – Sol Do Meio Dia

Derek Bailey, Evan Parker, Hugh Davies, Jamie Muir, Christine Jeffrey – The Music Improvisation Company

Stanley Cowell Trio – Illusion Suite

Edward Vesala – Nan Madol

Barre Phillips – Mountainscapes

ECM Hi-Res Reissues

ECM · Release Date: July 21, 2023

For more information on ECM, please visit: | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter

For media inquiries regarding other ECM titles, please contact:

DL Media · 347-489-5894

Jon Solomon ·

Don Lucoff ·

For the Preferred Artist

Information and press materials (including album covers, promotional photos 

and bios) on all DL Media artists can be found at our website: