Skip to content


ECM Announces Fall Release Schedule

ECM Announces Fall Release Schedule Including

Terje Rypdal, Dominik Wania, Michel Benita, and

Matthieu Bordenave in September

Forthcoming Releases by Keith Jarrett, András Schiff,

Dino Saluzzi, Anja Lechner, Erkki Sven-Tüür, and more

ECM today announces their Fall release schedule including new albums available on CD + LP by Terje Rypdal and Dominik Wania, as well as CD releases by Michel Benita Quartet and Matthieu Bordenave in September. More information on these releases are available below.

Additionally, October will see András Schiff and Jörg Widmann’s Brahms Clarinet Sonatas, Anja Lechner and Francois Couturier’s Lontano, and Keith Jarrett’s Budapest Concert. November will feature Dino Saluzzi’s Albores, Erkki Sven-Tüür’s Lost Prayers, Kim Karkashian and Tigran Mansurian’s Con Anima, and Elina Duni’s Lost Ships. More information on these releases is forthcoming.

Terje Rypdal | Conspiracy | September 11, 2020 | CD + LP

Conspiracy is Terje Rypdal’s first new ECM studio album in two decades. His other 21st century recordings have, to date, drawn upon live sources. The clarity and depth of the new production, and the panoramic sweep of the music, invite the listener to explore the grain, the detail and the texture of its enveloping sounds up close.

Conspiracy is here an album title, a composition, and the name of Rypdal’s current ensemble, one of his very best. Keyboardist Ståle Storløkken, who contributed to Vossabrygg and Crime Scene and was also a member of Terje’s Skywards groupis an ideal co-conspirator, perpetually thickening the plot with his own intuitive feeling for complementary shades and washes. Conspiracy also marks a welcome return for Pål Thowsen, whose subtle, detailed drumming was first heard on ECM with Arild Andersen’s 1970s groups. As Rypdal observes Thowsen is the Norwegian drummer whose feeling for time and dynamics is coming from the Tony Williams’ end of the percussive spectrum. The Conspiracy band is completed by gifted young bass guitarist Endre Hareide Hallre, whom Terje features as principal soloist on “By His Lonesome.”

Click here for the full album bio.

Dominik Wania | Lonely Shadows | September 18, 2020 | CD + LP

Lonely Shadows is the first ECM solo album from Dominik Wania, a musician of striking originality. The Polish pianist’s sensitivity to touch, tone and texture is informed by his classical background, but he also has instincts of a great improviser, acutely focused on the unfolding details of the music in the moment, with an inherent sense for structure. Lonely Shadows is a testimony to his creativity and a significant addition to ECM’s celebrated line of solo piano recordings.

In his approach to improvisation on this album, Wania notes, sound itself sets the direction for the development of material, and for expression and emotion: “I didn’t want to prepare anything in advance. No forms or melodic sketches or harmonic layers. I was fully dependent on the creative process of playing here and now.” At the same time, the music of Lonely Shadows reflects the aesthetic influence of composers Wania admires and has studied closely, “including Satie, Weber, Scriabin, Prokofiev and especially Ravel and Messiaen.”

Click here for the full album bio.

Michel Benita Quartet | Looking at Sounds | September 18, 2020 | CD

A musician at the heart of the French jazz scene since the early 1980s, Michel Benita honed his craft in the clubs and concert halls of Paris, working with an ever-changing cast of visiting stars, local players and expatriates. His first disc as a leader for the label was River Silver, recorded in 2015, with his group Ethics. The quartet on Looking At Sounds retains Swiss flugelhornist Matthieu Michel and French drummer Philippe Garcia from the Ethics line-up and adds Belgian keyboardist Jozef Dumoulin.

With the exception of Matthieu, Michel, who plays only flugelhorn on this recording, all members of the group make discreet use of electronics. Benita will periodically add a bass drone from his laptop. Garcia integrates real-time sampling into his percussive work. And Dumoulin processes his Rhodes through many effects boxes, pedals and reverbs to create a luminous patina of sound – see for instance the beginning of the title track, “Looking At Sounds,” whose name is its program.

Click here for the full album bio.

Matthieu Bordenave | La traverse | September 25, 2020 | CD

 French tenor saxophonist Matthieu Bordenave’s first leader date for ECM introduces a new project with German pianist Florian Weber and Swiss bassist Patrice Moret. On La traversée (The Crossing) Bordenave explores an area between contemporary chamber music and jazz. Bordenave’s writing for the trio emphasizes that this is a music in which space will have an important role to play, a feeling borne out by the austere quality of the improvising. Yet, this is also music that takes some risks, in its quiet way: prior to the recording the musicians played just a couple of concerts as a trio. Ideas, however, had been percolating for a long time.

Poetry has also provided atmospheric inspiration for the compositions, each of which is titled after lines and images from the work of René Char, who, in addition to being one of the great French writers of the 20th century, as Bordenave says, wrote numerous poems steeped in the flavors of Provence. “The melodies were responses to some of the poems, or impressions drawn from them.”

Click here for the full album bio.

Remainder of 2020 Fall Releases:


András Schiff & Jörg Widmann – Brahms Clarinet Sonatas

Anja Lechner & Francois Couturier – Lontano

Keith Jarrett – Budapest Concert


Dino Saluzzi – Albores

Erkki Sven-Tüür – Lost Prayers

Kim Kashkashian & Tigran Masurian – Con Anima

Elina Duni – Lost Ships

For media inquiries, please contact:

DL Media · 267-541-2784

Maureen McFadden ·

Don Lucoff ·

For the Preferred Artist 

Information and press materials (including album covers, promotional photos

and bios) on all DL Media artists can be found at our website: